Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » working w/ idiots (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: working w/ idiots
James Dunn
Film Handler

- posted 12-22-1999 01:15 PM      Profile for James Dunn   Email James Dunn   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
How do you handle working with people in the booth who obviously don't care about how a film is handled? The guy at my theatre who ends up doing the largest part of building and tearing down doesn't really care how well he does the job, as long as it gets done. He's constantly splicing reels together 1 sprocket hole off. Taping heads and tails back on with scotch tape. DRIVING ME FREAKING INSANE!! The simple solution would be to offer more of my time to do the work, but I'm a recently promoted manager working towards another (hopefully). I need to spend as much time working the management end as possible, but knowing how he treats the films really bothers me. Should I bite my tongue and live with it till I move higher up? or try and tackle both ends? How do you guys deal with idiots in the booth?

|  IP: Logged

Randy Stankey
Film God

- posted 12-22-1999 01:37 PM      Profile for Randy Stankey   Email Randy Stankey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Well, my thing lately is NOT to try and fix other people's mistakes. If you do that, nobody will know what a screw-up the other person is and they will not know how good you are. I wait until somebody asks me to fix somebody else's goof up.