Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » A Note to New Forum Members

Author Topic: A Note to New Forum Members
Christopher A Kerr
Film Handler

- posted 11-20-1999 10:09 PM      Profile for Christopher A Kerr   Email Christopher A Kerr   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
When I was first hired as a projectionst / manager, my training consisted of about 1 hour's instruction on how to thread a projector (incorrectly, I might add) and a list of things to do during the evening. Being an overly conifident guy by nature anyways, I thought "Hey, this is easy". My opinion rapidly changed when things started to go VERY wrong very quickly. I suddenly found myself hating my job.

Then, one slow night between shows, I was surfing the net looking for cool pictures of projection stuff to keep me interested and I stumbled accross FILM-TECH.com. I was at first only interested in the projection picture warehouse, but I accidently clicked on the film handler's forum link instead. Before I had time to hit my back button, I saw three topics that related to problems I was having and decided to read further. That was 4 months ago and I haven't looked back(or gone a day without reading everything new on the forum).

This forum has been an invaluable resource for me to do my job. If I have a problem, before having a tech come and charge me for a service call, I ask around here to see if I can fix the problem myself. Some of the most knowledgeable people in the industry are active members here and usually within 24 hours my problems are solved with their help.