Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Why not build onto the platter? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Why not build onto the platter?
James Dunn
Film Handler

- posted 10-26-1999 12:26 PM      Profile for James Dunn   Email James Dunn   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
This may sound like a dumb question to those of you who've been building for a while, but why does it seem to be the concensus that building directly onto the platter is a bad thing? We've got a make-up table that rolls right up next to the platter and movies are spliced one reel at a time onto the platter. It seems like a logical system to me. What are the disadvantages to doing it this way? How would you advise that it be done?
(I'm new to this and am taking the advise given to me on this BBS, "Ask lots of questions"... I hope I don't drive you all nuts. lol)

|  IP: Logged

Bruce McGee
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 10-26-1999 12:43 PM      Profile for Bruce McGee   Email Bruce McGee   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I am a collector. I have gotten new prints in the past. I will not run anything new or old before it gets a thorough check out. Even new prints can (and do) have bad splices in them.

If you are loading directly on the platter, you are probably coating your platter surface with that grey gunk that some exchanges manage to get all over the prints. Not to mention any defect in the print will be very hard to fix after loading.

I think it makes sense to check each reel thoroughly FIRST.

Ian Price
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 10-26-1999 12:45 PM      Profile for Ian Price   Email Ian Price   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Why I like to build up at the make-up table / workbench.

1. There is light at the make-up table.