Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Where do I get training?

Author Topic: Where do I get training?
James Dunn
Film Handler

- posted 10-22-1999 02:00 PM      Profile for James Dunn   Email James Dunn   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm a newbie in the projectionist world. I've got the very simple basics down, but I want to know where I can find extensive training. I have no doubt that I'm going to learn a lot more from my co-workers, but I also know that there are a lot of things that they don't know. Are there schools, correspondence classes, or anything of that nature that I can go to or take that'll educate me in all the aspects of the job?

|  IP: Logged

Ian Price
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 10-22-1999 02:28 PM      Profile for Ian Price   Email Ian Price   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
1. Read everything in Film-Tech.
2. Ask lots of questions on the Film-Handler's Forum.
3. Try a subscription to the newsletter published by the Moving Image Society. www.bksts.com/cinetec.htm
4. Make mistakes. I know it sounds stupid, but we all learn that way.
5. Don’t rush. Double-check everything.
6. Don’t be afraid to take it apart. Keep notes, so you can put it back together again.
7. Have fun. "They don’t pay you enough to have a bad time!"

James Dunn
Film Handler

- posted 10-23-1999 01:20 PM      Profile for James Dunn   Email James Dunn   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thanks for the great advice Ian. Anybody else have suggestions?

John Walsh
Film God

- posted 10-24-1999 01:39 AM      Profile for John Walsh   Email John Walsh   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post