Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » "Iron Giant" on 6000' Reels

Author Topic: "Iron Giant" on 6000' Reels
Kenn Fong
Film Handler

- posted 08-18-1999 10:13 PM      Profile for Kenn Fong   Author's Homepage   Email Kenn Fong   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
In talking with one of the union projectionists the other day -- the Grand Lake in Oakland where I work as an usher is a 100% union projectionist house -- I said I noticed "The Iron Giant" came in on bigger reels. He said it was shipped on 6000' reels, which required only one splice to build up on a Friday morning.

This begs an interesting question: why aren't more movies shipped on the 6000s? If a movie comes that way it would lessen the possibility of a missing reel and it makes the build-up on Friday mornings a lot faster. For the GL it's not a major crisis since we have only four screens, but I would imagine in some bigger operations, Friday morning must be a nightmare.

Does anyone have a sense of how many first-run houses are still running 2000' reels and making hot switches? That's always been the explanation: that even though the vast majority of houses are running platter systems, there are enough which aren't to necessitate the 2000s. I understand that some rep houses still do reel changes, because it doesn't make sense to build up a movie that morning and break it down after the last show that night.

By the way, if you haven't seen this picture, please do before it disappears. It's a lovely story, wonderfully executed. Kids love this movie, but the grown-ups like it even better. And don't miss the images and voices of two of Walt Disney's "Nine Old Men," animators Frank Thomas and Ollie Johnston in the train scene. That's Ollie, a model railroad hobbyist, as the engineer.

------------------
Kenn Fong