Dante and AES67

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dante and AES67

Has anyone had luck in getting AES67 in to AES67 compatible Dante equipment? Not QSYS Core, but a mixer or similar? I want to connect a CP950 to a Dante card in a Midas mixer, but having no luck.

I've no experience with the CP950 and AES67, but I've connected the CP850 successfully to AES67 compliant devices, not just QSYS. I don't have any experience with a Midas mixer, but a common gotcha is a problem with your PTPv2 configuration, like both devices not using the same master.

Comment

Thank you Marcel. Did you use RAV2SAP? Would you like to share some screenshots of the SDP and 850 setup? I can get my Dante net to lock on my AES67 stream, but no audio :-(

Comment

Note, at present, Dolby's implementation of AES67 insists that it be the Grand Master Clock. So, make sure your various PTP settings are set such that the CP950 "wins" . Furthermore, ensure that your domains are the same. Dolby equipment comes set to domain 109.

Comment

Check that PtP domains line up first. Most Audinate/Dante chips operate solely within Domain 0 (even in AES67 mode) whereas Dolby gear comes out of the box @ Domain 109. If the 950 lets you adjust the domain to 0, do so. From there you can to config the PtP Priority scheme so that the correct grandmaster gets elected. A Priority1 of 0 beats 255. Priority2 is used as a tiebreaker so you can most likely ignore that parameter if you setup Priority1's correctly.

A useful tool for seeing whats going on within domains, priorities, and masters/slaves is the PtPTrackhound utility. You'll need to have your mixer dante card, CP950, and PC all connected to a switch in order to observe.

Comment

Originally posted by Jesper Meng View Post
            Thank you Marcel. Did you use RAV2SAP? Would you like to share some screenshots of the SDP and 850 setup? I can get my Dante net to lock on my AES67 stream, but no audio :-(