Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

NEC NC2500s & NEC NC1600C-A running GDC 2100A Server (Continued from Archive)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NEC NC2500s & NEC NC1600C-A running GDC 2100A Server (Continued from Archive)

I too have a GDC Server running 7.7a-rc15 software. It rans SEPMTE files just fine. However the GDC SA-2100A Certificate expires this March 9th. By the time that I upgrade the Server to version 8.0, I am assuming it will not run on my Series One NEC NC1600C-A? So we plan on finding a Dobly DSS 100 which still has long certificate dates with the proper software to run on the series one. One of my buddies runs a half a dozen or more Series One projectors this way and some are nearly 15 years old. Does anyone see any problems getting this to work?

"Dolby DSS100 Show Stores and DSP100 Show Players to link to
    the projector via HD-SDI. In this configuration, no GORE boards are needed. So they say. I'm no expert, I do not know DCI cinema to that level of knowledge."

This is a remedy to get a few more years out of this projector. We are on a very limited budget

www.HolidayDriveIn.BiZ
    Last edited by Steve Wilson; 02-28-2020, 02:28 PM.

The Series 1 NEC will need a Gore board in it if you want to be able to play SMPTE DCPs reliably.

For the SMPTE DCPs to work, you will need to update the DSS100/DSP100 to the final software/firmware version that was published for it, which is 4.7.8.7. If you get your hands on a unit that is on an earlier version, this can be done: the last time I did one (last fall), Dolby were still selling update KDMs, and the cost is not significant.