Anyone using Vista POS system?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone using Vista POS system?

Is there anyone on here using full blown Vista POS system? We currently use their dumbed down SAAS version "Veezi", but I was curious if any of you guys have the real deal?

Personally, no (I am a tech, not a cinema employee) but the chain I work with does. I've talked to them about it and set up the integration with Vista on the TMS to have the projection system simply show whatever feature they schedule in Vista at the correct time, and I've had to fix problems with that integration. This makes daily operation really simple, the TMS has to ftp a schedule file from Vista (every few minutes) and then move the required content, playlists, and schedule to the screen servers that are scheduled to run the shows.
    Most managers have a rough idea how this all works and can handle simple problems but the sites have one with more training and experience who does the DCP ingesting and SPL creation at the TMS.
    I don't know what you miss in your version, but theirs is pretty impressive. As long as the CPLs have been ingested to the TMS and the show SPLs linked to Vista show names... the booth runs itself.
    Vista also links to their online ticket sale website, and many rooms have reserved seating making syncing the sales data very important. Reserved seating does make changing rooms (if a small room sells out and that show gets swapped with a low sales larger room) trickier but I guess they have a way. For unreserved rooms it just works seamlessly, the changed schedule is used and any missing content on the two servers involved is transferred there. That may take a few minutes though so changes have to be done allowing enough time to get the transfers done before showtime.